The Assignment

Photo by Elena Senao Banos
Misplace your assignment? Dog ate your homework? Here is another copy.
Turnitin.com
Choose Your Country

Taj Majal Photo by Mary Molinaro
- Portals to the World
This website from the Library of Congress contains selective links to websites providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other regions of the world. The site is arranged by country or area with the links for each sorted into broad categories such as culture, history, languages, recreation and travel and society. - Map Machine
Planning your route? The National Geographic provides a satellite, street and 3-D maps for anywhere in the world.
Location & Hours

Photo by Robbert van der Steeg
Find the Doyle Library 1501 Mendocino Ave., Santa Rosa
Find the Mahoney Library 680 Sonoma Mountain Parkway, Petaluma
- Santa Rosa Junior College Library Hours Check to see when the library is open.
- Sonoma State University Library Check the hours of the SSU Library. Remember your SRJC Id card acts like a library card at Sonoma State too.
- Sonoma County Library Check on the individual branch of the Sonoma County Library to learn when they're open and ready to serve you.
- Santa Rosa Junior College Computer Lab Hours Figure out when they're open by using this link.
Read about Your Destination: Culture Shock!

Available at the SRJC Mahoney Library the Culture Shock books are full of advice about interacting with folks from different cultures.
To find them type the words Culture Shock into the search box below.
Photo by Riza Nugraha
You'll need to write down the call number to locate your book on the shelf and bring your Student ID Card with you so that you can check the book out of the library at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.
Search the SRJC Library Catalog
Read about Your Destination: Encyclopedias & Guides

Instanbul photo by Molly Matheson
These reference books, located on the first floor of the Mahoney Library and the second floor of the Doyle Library provide much in the way of cultural customs, communication behaviors, statistics and facts. Written by experts these are solid sources to add to your research.
CultureGrams
Call Number: Doyle Ref 2nd Flr, Mahoney Ref 1st Flr GT150 .C85 2009
Need to know about: Customs and courtesies? Greetings? Lifestyle? Religion? Diet? Dating and Marriage? This source is designed to "let you stand in someone else's shoes." Consists of a number of cultural reports from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Call Number: Doyle Ref 2nd Flr, Mahoney Ref 1st Flr GT2850 .E53 2003
Bursting with information these 3 volumes on the role of food in different cultures "throughout time and in all parts of the world" are edited by a leading expert on the anthropology of food at the University of Pennsylvania. Contributors include food specialists, anthropologists, archaeologists, historians, economists, and critics, who provide 600 signed articles covering the role of food in different holidays and festivals; nutrition and food science; food symbolism and its use in various arts; national cuisines and more.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures - Various
Call Number: Mahoney Ref 1st Flr E169.1 .G73 2004
Provides alphabetically arranged entries on the architecture, art, ecology, folklore, food, religion, and recreation of each major United States region.
Legal Systems of the World: A Political, Social and Cultural Encyclopedia
Call Number: Mahoney Ref 1st Flr K48 .L44 2002
Written by an international team of more than 350 legal scholars, the more than 400 signed entries cover legal systems of countries from around the world, Australia, and the provinces of Canada.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Call Number: Doyle Ref 2nd Flr, Mahoney Ref 1st Flr GN307 .E53 1991
Ten volumes covering every world culture focusing on very specific groups of people including the languages they speak, food, marriage customs and more.
Books, Articles, Websites--Collect Them All!

Articles in reference books, magazine and journal articles and books, even authoritative websites all bring something unique to your research. Make sure you investigate all types of sources using the following tools from your SRJC Library:
Photo by Tasseim
- SRJC Online Databases
Use this link to find articles in magazines, journals and newspapers--the SRJC even has an online encyclopedia for you to use which you can access from this part of our website. - SRJC Catalog
Use this link to search for books and CDs in both SRJC Libraries. - SRJC Library Recommended Websites
Librarian |
Molly M. MathesonGuide Books

Photo courtesy of Lonely Planet
The library has many online travel guidebooks that you can read from anywhere. These books can be a great source of information on itineraries, culture, history, politics, cultural behaviors and faux pas.
If you're not on campus you will be asked for your Student ID Number and your PIN--the same ones you use to register at My Cubby.
Click here for a sample of over 900 of these online guidebooks.
Adventure Guide Scandinavia
Call Number: It's an Ebook
ISBN/ISSN: 1588435792
It's Scandinavia and this book promises to focus more on the activities, the attractions and how
to make the most of your stay through a wide variety of adventures. An adventure, however,
does not necessarily mean something that gets your adrenaline flowing; it could be anything from sightseeing to visiting a museum or
going shopping.
Can't Find a Book?

Unable to find a particular book in the SRJC Library?
First ask a Reference Librarian for assistance.
It could be that the SSU Library has the book. Your SRJC Student ID acts like a library card there. Follow this link to search the SSU Library Catalog.
The SRJC Library has a service called Interlibrary Loan that can locate almost any book or article for you for free. Ask a reference librarian to tell you more about this service.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait