Skip to main content
Featured E-Books and E-Book Collections at the SRJC Libraries
An e-book is a digital version of a print book, containing the same words and images that you would find in its print counterpart. These e-book collections are available to SRJC students, faculty and staff.
SRJC ID and PIN are required for off campus access. Visit each page of this guide for in-depth information about the features of several e-book publications or begin searching the collections from the links below.
A digital collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and guides that is cross-searchable. Topics include American history, military history, and economics.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
A wealth of data on the properties of organic and inorganic compounds. Useful in the pure sciences, applied sciences, engineering and technology. TECHNICAL NOTE: In order to use the CRC Handbook from off campus, your web browser must be set to accept ALL cookies.
DSM-V: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
This resource presents an overview of all mental health disorders. It also lists known causes of these disorders, statistics in terms of gender, age at onset, and prognosis as well as some research concerning optimal treatment approaches. The DSM-IV is also available to search.
DSM-IV-TR and Previous Editions of DSM
The archive provides simple file access to prior editions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) including the DSM-IV-TR. Published by the American Psychiatric Association.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
A large selection of multidisciplinary e-book titles representing a broad range of academic subject matters. More than 97,400 titles represent subject coverage included in: Art, Business & Economics, Education, Language Arts, Literary Criticism, Health and Medicine, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Poetry, Political Science, Religion, Social Science, Technology & Engineering, and more. New titles are continuously added each month.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Search the full text of a collection of electronic books that you can read online. There are over 24,000 books in subject areas including Psychology, Sociology, Literature, Business & Economics, Computer Science, Education, History, Latin American Studies, Political Science, Health & Wellness, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A reference library containing the full-text of several titles in the areas of history, medicine, religion, science and social science.
Sage Knowledge Online
A collection of over 350 subject-focused encyclopedias and handbooks that cover a wide range of topics, from African American Studies through Environment and Politics to Sociology.
Find e-Books in Smart Search
Finding e-books in Smart Search
Macs and Adobe Acrobat Reader
If you are having problems reading e-books, using Adobe Acrobat on your Mac, try this PDF browser plugin:
1. Download at http://www.schubert-it.com/pluginpdf/
2. Open the .dmg file.
3. Copy PDF Browser Plugin to the Library/Internet Plug-Ins folder of your hard drive.
Once installed, the plug-in should work without additional configuration.
Macs and Firefox
When reading EBSCO's eBook Collection on a Mac with Firefox, each page is being individually downloaded.
Check if Display PDF in browser window is enabled. If not:
1. Open Adobe Reader.
2. Go to Edit, choose Preferences.
3. Under Categories, choose Internet.
4. To the right under Web Browser Options, check the option “Display PDF in browser.”
SRJC Libraries | Doyle Library (707) 527-4548 | Mahoney Library (707) 778-3975 | Santa Rosa Junior College 1501 Mendocino Ave. Santa Rosa, CA 95401-4395