This is the "Get Started!" page of the "Fire Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Catalog Databases Ask A Librarian SRJC Libraries

Fire Technology   Tags: fire fire_science firefighters  

Books, articles and websites to ignite your fire technology research.
Last Updated: Aug 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.santarosa.edu/fire Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Get Started! Print Page
  Search: 
 

Online Fire Tech Encyclopedias

Bush on Fire from Bureau of Land Management

 

Help with Research?

The Scream by Edvard Munch

The Scream by Edvard Munch Courtesy of ArtStor

Are you not sure where to start your research? 

Remember there are always Reference Librarians available to assist you with any part of your own research process, either in person or via our Ask a Librarian service. 

You can find librarians on the Second Floor of the Doyle Library or on the First Floor of the Mahoney Library in Petaluma, anytime the library is open.

 

Even Better than Wikipedia, and More Reliable Too!

fire

These reference books, located on the first floor of the Mahoney Library and the second floor of the Doyle Library provide you with a great starting place for learning more about anything to do with fire science whether it be wildfires, hazardous materials, statistics or facts.  Unlike Wikipedia, these articles are written by experts you can cite in your papers and are solid, credible sources to inform your research.

For your paper, you'll still need to research further in books and journal articles.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Fire Protection
Call Number: Doyle 2nd Flr, Mahoney 1st Flr TH9116 .N65 2006
Current terminology, codes, organizations and other need to know information for the beginning fire protection/ engineering student or practicing professional.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Fire
Call Number: Doyle 2nd Flr, Mahoney 1st Flr TP265 .N48 2002
Entries cover fire-related theories and concepts, cultural issues and allusions, industrial and military applications, political and social issues, as well as people, events, and organizations.

Cover Art
2010 California Fire Code: California Code of Regulations, Title 24, Part 9
Call Number: Online Book
This document is Part 9 of 12 parts of the official triennial compilation and publication of the adoptions, amendments and repeal of administrative regulations to California Code of Regulations, Title 24, also referred to as the California Building Standards Code. This part is known as the California Fire Code.

Cover Art
Common Sense Dictionary for First Responders
Call Number: Mahoney 1st Flr HV551.3 .F565 2006
A glossary of terms that will be useful to all responders to emergency situations. Section I includes terms common in matters relating to hazardous materials, chemistry, the environment, firefighting, EMS, protective clothing, radioactivity, chemical warfare agents, and other emergency topics. Section II is a comprehensive list of abbreviations and acronyms that relate to the topics covered in the first section.

Cover Art
NFPA's Illustrated Dictionary of Fire Service Terms
Call Number: Mahoney 1st Flr TH9116 .N475 2006
Features approximately 4,000 fire fighting, fire safety, and electrical terms and their definitions.

Cover Art
Visual Dictionary of Firefighters' Tools and Resources
Call Number: Mahoney 1st Flr TH9116 .Q4258 2007
A one-stop resource containing definitions for various tools utilized in search and rescue, as well as other resources critical to incident response.

Cover Art
Forest Fires: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: Doyle 2nd Flr SD421 .O64 2005
From killer fires to ecosystem rehabilitation, an exhaustive survey exploring the ecological, social, and economic consequences of managing fires in U.S. wildland areas.

 

Ask a Librarian

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip