Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Library Instruction
Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources.

Browse All Guides   |
  Search: 
 

Library Instruction Guides

Call Numbers
by Reference Librarian - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
541 views this year
Chicago Turabian Style Guide
by Molly Matheson - Last Updated Apr 30, 2014
How to create citations and in text references using Chicago or Turabian styles.
235 views this year
Databases
by Alicia Virtue - Last Updated Jul 19, 2014
An overview of the SRJC library databases.
880 views this year
E-Books
by Alicia Virtue - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
444 views this year
Glossary of Library Terms
by Reference Librarian - Last Updated Apr 27, 2012
Definitions of common library terminology.
455 views this year
How To Cite Sources
by Molly Matheson - Last Updated May 19, 2014
Get the perfect tools for creating citations using either APA, MLA, AMA, ASA or Chicago/Turabian styles.
4,878 views this year
How to Evaluate Information Resources
by Kathy McGreevy - Last Updated May 7, 2014
5,087 views this year
Library of Congress Classification System
by Molly Matheson - Last Updated Jan 23, 2014
Books in the SRJC Libraries are organized according to the Library of Congress Classification System. Learn more about the LOC system here.
974 views this year
Pro/Con Viewpoints
by Molly Matheson, Alicia Virtue - Last Updated May 8, 2014
Need robust research for an argumentative essay, controversial or pro/con topic? This guide includes sources and methods for locating material in articles, reports, statistics, books and websites.
1,078 views this year
Scholarly v. Popular Information
by Reference Librarian - Last Updated Nov 6, 2013
957 views this year
SRJC Libraries FacPack
by Loretta Esparza, Alicia Virtue - Last Updated May 30, 2014
This guide presents an overview of library services for SRJC faculty.
1,634 views this year
Statistics
by Molly Matheson - Last Updated May 19, 2014
A guide for locating statistical information, by topic, or geographic region, using SRJC databases reference books and websites.
444 views this year
Topic List
by Reference Librarian - Last Updated Jun 17, 2012
2,497 views this year
 
 

Guide on the Side Library Tutorials

Guide on the Side Library Tutorials

These tutorials guide you through the resources available at the SRJC Libraries. There is a quiz at the end of each tutorial that may be emailed to you and your instructor if these are assigned for extra credit.

Troubleshooting Tips

Cover Art
Explore Smart Search
This 10 minute tutorial shows you how to:

Use keyword and phrase searches to find information

Narrow and limit your search results

Use a variety of search features and tools

Cover Art
Explore EBSCO E-Books
This 10 minute tutorial shows you how to:

Find e-books on a particular topic

Narrow and limit your search results

Locate information within each e-book

Cover Art
Explore Sage Knowledge
This 10 minute tutorial shows you how to:

Gain an overview of your topic

Investigate the qualifications of the authors or editors who are writing about the topics you are researching

Use a variety of search features and tools

Cover Art
Explore NoodleBib
This 30 minute tutorial shows you how to:

Create a NoodleBib account and project

Cite print books, e-books, and online articles

Print a bibliography

Citation Help

Style Guides

APA Style Guide
by Molly Matheson - Last Updated Apr 30, 2014
This guide is intended to help students understand the basics of APA style for writing research papers and contains resources to guide one through the citation process.
2,882 views this year
MLA Style Guide
by Smita Avasthi, Sami Lange - Last Updated Jul 23, 2014
Create perfect MLA citations, parenthetical references and a list of Works Cited for online and print sources.
5,127 views this year
Chicago Turabian Style Guide
by Molly Matheson - Last Updated Apr 30, 2014
How to create citations and in text references using Chicago or Turabian styles.
235 views this year

More Information Literacy Tutorials

Are you taking the LIR Credit By Exam? These tutorials will help you become familiar with key topics you should know. 

 
 

Information Literacy Tutorials

These tutorials are available to help you develop the skills needed to effectively locate, evaluate, and use information.

Cover Art
Generating Search Terms
Have a topic? Watch this tutorial to learn how to generate effective search terms for your topic and save research time.

Cover Art
Developing a Topic
This tutorial will help you develop a research topic and formulate a thesis statement for your paper.

Cover Art
What is a Library Database?
Learn about the type of information you might find in library databases and how to use them for your research.

Cover Art
Internet Search Tips
This tutorial will help you find Web resources more effectively.

Cover Art
Incorporating Information Resources
Ready to write your paper? Learn how to analyze information and use information sources to support your thesis.

Cover Art
Why You Need to Cite Resources
Watch this tutorial to understand the reasons why it is important to cite sources when writing a research paper.

 

Description

Loading