- American Experience | PBS | Vietnam Online
- DoD 101 - An Introduction to the Military
This site comes from the Federation of American Scientists, "the oldest organization dedicated to ending the worldwide arms race, achieving complete nuclear disarmament, and avoiding the use of nuclear weapons. It provides information about U.S. weapons systems, military operations, exercises and facilities, the Dept. of Defense, the U.S. Army, Navy, Marines, and Air Force, command echelons, military awards and insignia and more.
- DTIC Online - Public Scientific & Technical Information
The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today .
- Federation of American Scientists
- The Vietnam Center and Archive: Virtual Vietnam Archive
The Vietnam Archive collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, from letters and oral histories to veterans' organizations, scholars of the period and other individuals and organizations who had experiences with the war. Also includes an acronyms database and a set of frequently asked questions. Developed by The Vietnam Project at Texas Tech University.
- The Virtual Wall - Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund
- The Wars for Vietnam: 1945-1975
An examination and answers to many unanswered questions about the Vietnam War.
- The World's Armies
Links to web sites for the armies, navies and air forces of forty world's countries. (From a defense publisher in United Kingdom.)
- Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress's Veterans History Project is committed to honoring veterans and collecting their stories. The collections offer personal narratives, audio and video taped interviews, written memoirs, letters, postcards, vmail, personal diaries, photographs, drawings and scrapbooks, many online. The focus is on first-hand accounts of U.S. veterans from World Wars I and II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and the Persian Gulf War. Civilian war industry workers, U.S.O. workers, medical volunteers, etc. are also invited to participate. The site provides instructions on how to submit your own veteran and wartime stories.
- Vietnam-Era POW/MIA Database - Federal Research Division, Library of Congress
- World Wide Web Virtual Library - Military History
- Arms Control Agreements
From the Federation of American Scientists, this collection briefly describes the provisions, status, and methods of verification for major bilateral and multilateral arms control agreements as well as giving a chronology, the complete texts and news for each. Links are also provided to related resources and web sites.
- Foundation for Middle East Peace
The Foundation for Middle East Peace (FMEP) is a nonprofit organization that promotes peace between Israel and Palestine, via two states, that meets the fundamental needs of both peoples. FMEP offers speakers, sponsors programs, makes small grants, and publishes the Report on Israeli Settlement in the Occupied Territories containing analysis, commentary, maps, and other data on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.
- Peace and Justice Center of Sonoma County
- United States Institute of Peace
The United States Institute of Peace is "an independent, nonpartisan federal institution created and funded by Congress to strengthen the nation's capacity to promote the peaceful resolution of international conflict." Resources available on its website include a Peace Agreements Digital Collection which contains the full text of agreements signed by the major contending parties ending inter- and intra-state conflicts worldwide since 1989; links to more than 100 foreign affairs ministries; a country by country set of links to regional resources such as Taliban and Afghanistan Web Links; a set of topical links including such topics as Terrorism / Counter-Terrorism, Minority Rights and Refugee Returns, and "Peacekeeping."
- A Homeland Security Resource Since 2000
The Terrorism Research Center is "an independent institute dedicated to the research of terrorism, information warfare, critical infrastructure protection and other issues of low-intensity political violence..." Its information specialists are drawn from industry, government, and academia in the United States and several other countries. The TRC website provides analysis and commentary, documents, profiles of terrorist organizations and counterterrorism groups, and an extensive list of links to websites on related topics.
- CQ Press In Context : Terrorism
This website provides material from a variety of CQ Press sources, including encyclopedia articles on topics such as "Jihad" and "Theocracy," three issues of the CQ Researcher offering in-depth studies on "Combating Terrorism," "Islamic Fundamentalism," and the "Middle East Conflict," and more. Topics include media coverage of the attacks, religion and religious concepts, regional politics and society in the Middle East, terrorism and counterterrorism, and U.S. intelligence.
- FEMA: Are You Ready?
From the Federal Emergency Management Agency, a guide on preparing for various types of disasters, from floods, earthquakes and fires to hazardous materials incidents, nuclear power plant accidents and national security emergencies such as terrorism, chemical and biological weapons and nucelar attack.
- Frontline: Hunting Bin Laden | PBS
This website, designed to accompany the Public Broadcasting System's Frontline program on Osama Bin Laden, offers information on his life, his fatwahs and his terrorist organization, as well as information on recent attacks such as the 1998 U.S. embassy bombings, the USS Cole attack and the recent attacks on the World Trade Center and the U.S. Pentagon. A video interview with Bin Laden is provided as well as video profiles of two terrorists in his network. (NOTE: Video clips require that your computer have a considerable amount of memory.)
- NOVA | Dirty Bomb | PBS
This website is designed to accompany the Public Broadcasting System's Nova program. Presents the text of an interview with terrorism expert Graham Allison on both radiological and nuclear terrorism, questions and answers e-mailed to Charles Ferguson of the Center for Nonproliferation Studies, a chronology and description of worldwide radiation disasters and disappearances of radioactive materials. A brief list of books and websites related to radioactive terrorism is also included.
- Office of the Historian - US Department of State
What kinds of terrorism preceded and followed the 9/11 attacks? This list, presented by the U.S. State Department, outlines numerous significant terrorist events around the world, from1961-2003 . The list "based entirely on public sources, was prepared for background information and reference purposes. It is not intended to be a complete or comprehensive account of all terrorist incidents during these years, and it is not an official expression of U.S. policy."
- Terrorism - Background and Threat Assessments
From the Federation of American Scientists, this large collection of links offers information on September 11 and its aftermath, Middle East terror, chemical and biological weapons, patterns of global terrorism, terrorist organizations, and more.
- Terrorism - Council on Foreign Relations
From the Council on Foreign Affairs, this site discusses terrorism and related topics in a question and answer format.