Search Tip
Photo by Zetson
Your Google search skills won't work in these databases. Keep your searches to a few keywords, usually nouns. If you're having trouble finding articles, ask a Librarian to help you with your strategy.
Returning User
Articles Found in Databases

If you're reading this from off campus you'll be asked to supply your SRJC ID number and PIN in order to use these resources --these are the same numbers you use to access your Cubby to register for classes.
Most databases allow you to save articles to a flash drive or email the document. Printing in the Library costs 10 cents per page and requires a Print Card which can be purchased in most of the Library Print Rooms.
- Magazines, Journals & Newspapers: ProQuest
You can search a wide variety of sources on any number of topics in this mammoth database. - General & Scholarly Articles: Expanded Academic ASAP
This database defaults to searching for articles by subject but you can also search using keywords too. Scholarly journals and popular magazine articles can be found here. You can find citations to articles in the New York Times but you'll have to use another database called ProQuest Newspapers to read the fulltext of New York Times articles. - Finding Articles on Local Issues
This database has articles from the Press Democrat, Argus Courier, San Francisco Chronicle and Sacramento Bee. Remember to keep your search very simple at first. Don't use your Google search skills here. - Search for Literary Criticism in Literature Resource Center
If you need literary criticism or information about an author, this is the database for you.
Library Classes

Photo by Valeriana Solaris
LIR 10 and LIR 30 are introductory classes that provide you with the skills you'll need to find, evaluate and use information found in books, magazines, journals and the internet.
You'll save time by learning where and how to search for specific information leaving you more time to spend writing the perfect paper.
These courses meet the Area 1 GE requirement and are transferable to CSU.
Can't Find an Article?

Sculpture by Jean-Michel Folon, photo by Marco Bellucci
Unable to find the entire copy of a particular article?
If possible, ask a Reference Librarian for assistance.
It could be that the article is available in more than one database or it's possible that the library has a copy of the magazine or journal.
Sometimes the article is available from the magazine or journal's website--but frequently you have to pay for an article there.
The SRJC Library has a service called Interlibrary Loan that can locate almost any book or article for you for free! Ask a reference librarian to tell you more about this service.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait