- AGRICOLA National Agriculture Library Catalog
From the National Agricultural Library and cooperating organizations, AGRICOLA lists publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Although AGRICOLA does not contain the materials, thousands of AGRICOLA records are linked to online full-text documents, with new links being added every day.
- Agricultural Fact Book, US Department of Agriculture
The Agricultural Fact Book is a reference tool that offers information about US agriculture, food safety, nutrition, rural issues, research, education, and natural resources.
- Agriculture and Natural Resources, University of California
A collection of publications and websites on topics such as farming, pest control, natural resources, food & nutrition, and gardening, as well as information on cooperative extension programs and services for California residents.
- Alternative Farming Systems Information Center
A vast, comprehensive digital library comprising documents related to sustainable agriculture published by the USDA, the United Nations, research universities and other organizations.
- Bodega Land Trust
The Bodega Land Trust was formed in 1992 and received 501(c)3 tax-exempt status in 1997. Initially formed by local sheep ranchers to encourage the preservation of agricultural open space, the organization has evolved into a vital grassroots organization that encourages and supports community involvement in land stewardship.
- Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
- California Agricultural Production Statistics
The California Department of Food and Agriculture produces an annual resource directory that provides detailed data about California's crop production, sales, and agriculture-related energy developments
- California Oak Mortality Task Force - Sudden Oak Death
Learn which counties are infected, become familiar with specific symptoms, find out what plants are affected, learn how to report an infected site, learn about current regulations and quarantines, learn about recent research, sign up for a monthly newsletter and more. Includes an image library, a slide show, and a diagnostic guide.
- College of Agricultural Sciences, Penn State University
Pennsylvania State University presents over 13,000 reports, newsletters, bibliographies and fact sheets on topics related to the agricultural sciences, human nutrition, aging, family, community development and consumer issues.
- Crop Report: County of Sonoma, California
The County of Sonoma Agricultural Commissioner's annual report of crops grown each year. This website links to reports from 1999 to present day
eXtension is an interactive learning environment delivering the best, most researched knowledge from the smartest land-grant university minds across America. It's a space where university content providers can gather and produce new educational and information resources on wide-ranging topics.
- FAOSTAT - Food and Agriculture Organization Statistics
FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. It is also an excellent source for current information about biomass energy production. This is a free, interactive tool that produces downloadable data sets.
- Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations - World Agricultural Information Centre Portal
This digital resource center from the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) allows you to search its extensive collection of documents, webpages, photos and press releases by word(s) or browse them by selecting from a menu of topics. A wide variety of topics is covered, in areas such as agricultural administration and legislation, animal production, economic development, fishery, forestry, human nutrition, plant science and production, pollution and more.
- Laguna de Santa Rosa Foundation
The Laguna Foundation was formed in 1989 following the convening of the State of the Laguna conference, which brought together the private and public agencies and interests with a stake in the Laguna's condition and future
- LandPaths | Connecting People with the Land in Sonoma County
LandPaths' mission is to foster a love of the land in Sonoma County. LandPaths creates ways for people to experience the beauty, understand the value, and assist in healing the land in their local communities.
- National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
The National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service covers news on sustainable agriculture and organic farming, as well as in-depth publications on production practices, alternative crop and livestock enterprises, innovative marketing, organic certification, and highlights of local, regional, USDA and other federal sustainable agriculture activities.
- Renewable Fuels Association
The Renewable Fuels Association provides detailed information about the production of alternative fuels, ethanol, developments in the production of cellulosic ethanol, the use of cropland for fuel development, and other timely issues. See the annual industry outlook on this site for a broad overview of the state of biofuel production in the US.
- School Garden Network
A collaboration of garden coordinators, classroom teachers, parent volunteers and community partners dedicated to the creation and support of sustainable garden and nutrition-based learning programs for students in Sonoma County.
- Sonoma County Agricultural Preservation and Open Space District
In 1990, county residents voted to create the Agricultural Preservation and Open Space District to preserve county lands. With funds generated from a voter-approved quarter-cent sales tax, the District has permanently preserved almost 85,000 acres of Sonoma County open space and agricultural land to date.
- Sonoma County Farm Trails
Sonoma County encompasses a wide variety of landscapes: from oak-studded hills to flood plains, from redwood groves to windswept beaches. Sonoma County Farm Trails members can be found in all of these places, offering agricultural products with their own sense of terroir: flavors and textures unique to their soil and micro-climates.
- Sonoma Land Trust
Sonoma Land Trust conserves scenic, natural, agricultural and open land for the future of Sonoma County.
- Sudden Oak Death Research - Kelly Research & Outreach Lab
The University of California's Sudden Oak Death Research Team offers information on the fungal disease Phytophthora which is killing California's oak trees in large numbers. Symptoms and causes are discussed, and the site includes numerous photographs and maps which show the distribution of trees and of the disease within the state. Links to news stories and pending legislation are also provided. Users can even submit information online concerning locations of trees with the disease.
- United States Department of Agriculture
The USDA home page with links to a wide range of aspects pertaining to agriculture, natural resources, rural nad community development, food and nutrition and more.
- University of California Cooperative Extension: Sonoma County
Our mission is to sustain a vital agriculture, environment and community in Sonoma County by providing University of California research-based information in agriculture, natural resource management, nutrition and youth development.
- USDA Agriculture Fact Book
Pages and pages of statistical information related to agriculture: Our food, its production and prices; farm labor and wages; government and agriculture; nutrition and food safety; and more. See links to previous editions of the Agriculture Fact Book on the web site as well. Most current edition is 2001-2001.
- USDA Office of the Chief Economist - Climate Change
The Climate Change Program Office (CCPO) operates within the Office of the Chief Economist and functions as the Department-wide coordinator of agriculture, rural and forestry-related global change program and policy issues facing USDA. The Office ensures that USDA is a source of objective, analytical assessments of the effects of climate change and proposed response strategies.
- Weeds Gone Wild: Alien Plant Invaders of Natural Areas
From the National Plant Conservation Initiative, this site offers a national list of invasive plants which infest natural areas in the U.S. as well as illustrated fact sheets with plant descriptions, native range, distribution and habitat, management options, alternative native plants and links to plant control experts.