- An Atlas of The Universe
This web page is designed to give everyone an idea of what our universe actually looks like. There are nine main maps on this web page, each one approximately ten times the scale of the previous one. The first map shows the nearest stars and then the other maps slowly expand out until we have reached the scale of the entire visible universe.
- Architecture Week Great Buildings Collection
This architecture reference site offers information about 1000 classic buildings of world architecture as well as information about hundreds of their great designers.
- Birmingham Museums & Art Gallery Pre-Raphaelite Online Resource
Britain's Birmingham Museums and Art Gallery's collection of paintings, prints and drawings created by major and minor members of the Pre-Raphaelites. Searchable by artist, images can be enlarged to view detail.
- Brandeis Libraries Special Collections Book of Hours
- BU Libraries | Finding Images on the Web
- Calisphere - A World of Digital Resources
Calisphere is the University of California's free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Content selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations. Browse a list of A-Z topics (Black Panthers, Gold Rush, Dolores Huerta, etc.) or select images and documents from themed collections (1929-1939: The Great Depression, 1939-1945: World War II, etc.)
- Collections Search Center, Smithsonian Institution
Search over 2 million records with 275,200 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.
- DefenseLINK Images: About Images on DefenseLINK
Photos in the public domain from the US Department of Defense.
- Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
Photos pertaining to energy that are in the public domain from several US agencies.
- Explore the British Library
30,000 treasures from the British Library's collection. Turn pages of an Ethiopian Bible, explore 19th century photography or learn more about "Black Europeans", Henry VIII, ancient maps and more.
- Google Images
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History | The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Get lost in art history from prehistory to the present day in this website from the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The Timeline is indexed by chronology, geography, theme, and subject. Links to world regions, timelines, thematic essays, works of art, and the general index provide methods for more directed research. The bibliography is comprised of over 3,000 Metropolitan Museum of Art publications, and is further enriched by other publications whose primary focus is on Metropolitan Museum works of art.
- Image Collections and Online Art
- Images of Native Americans : The Bancroft Library, University of California, Berkeley
- Library of Congress - Youtube Videos
- Library of Congress Photos on Flickr
From the Prints and Photographs Reading Room, Library of Congress
- LIFE Magazine Photo Archive
- Mark Harden's Artchive
- National Digital Library
- National Gallery of Art - The Collection
A searchable catalog of all of the museum's 110,000 objects, with images of more than 6,000 available online.
- National Institutes of Health Photo Galleries
Photos in the public domain pertaining to medicine and medical issues from the US National Institutes of Health.
- National Library of Medicine: Historical Anatomies on the Web
A digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts.
- Nature & Science | Geology Resources Division | National Parks Service
Photos pertaining to geology in the public domain from the US National Parks Service
- New York Public Library Digital Gallery
"NYPL Digital Gallery is The New York Public Library's new image database, developed to provide free and open online access to thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of the Research Libraries. Spanning a wide range of visual media, NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of the Research Libraries, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences."
- New York Public Library Picture Collection Online
- North Bay Digital Collections
Sonoma State University Library's digital access to selected archival and historical materials related to the San Francisco North Bay. Collections include photographs, unpublished manuscripts, correspondence, clippings, and ephemera.
- NPS Digital Image Index
Photos in the public domain from the US National Parks Service.
- Perseus Digital Library
This Library's original emphasis was on the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Arabic, Germanic, Renaissance and 19th century American materials have more recently been added. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. Produced in collaboration with many museums, institutions, and scholars.
- Perseus Digital Library - Art and Archaeology Artifact Browser
Use the Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser to look through a massive library of art objects, coins, vases, sculptures, gems, sites and buildings.
- Photographic Information eXchange | NREL
Photos in the public domain from the US National Renewable Energy Laboratory.
- SIRIS | Smithsonian Institution Research Information System
The Smithsonian American Art Museum maintains a number of specialized art databases and photographic archive collections.
- Smithsonian Photography Initiative
This website will introduce you to Smithsonian's' extraordinary collections of photographs and to an understanding of the integral roles photographs play in our lives. Search a selection of images from the Smithsonian Institution's nineteen museums and galleries, nine research centers, and the National Zoo. Read "photography changes everything," a collection of essays and stories by invited contributors and visitors, which discusses how photography shapes our culture and our lives--how it changes who we are, what we do, what we see, where we go, what we want and what we remember. A collections of online exhibitions is also available.
- U.S. Government Photos and Images
A great starting point for finding photos and images in the public domain from several US agencies.
- Unseen, Unforgotten. Civil Rights Digital Archive | The Birmingham News, Alabama
A collection of never before seen photographs of the Civil Rights movement, from the Birmingham News. Photos cover desegregation of the schools, the fight for voting rights, civil disobedience, the Freedom Riders, and more. Multimedia presentations featuring more pictures and interviews with the photographers and participants in the civil rights movement are also online.
- Visual Collections
"View maps, fine artwork, photographs and other items from over thirty renowned collections" using one browser that allows users to employ an "advanced search function," a high resolution zoom-in tool, and the ability to view images from various collections simultaneously. More than 300,000 works of art are represented, most of them available for free, public access.
- World Digital Library Home
Browse the World Digital Library for cultural treasures by place, time, topic, type of item, or contributing institution, or locate items by keyword search. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, and advanced image-viewing. Switch between the seven languages to read or listen to contextual information through item-level descriptions and podcasts.