Skip to main content
Biography Web Sites
20th Century American Leaders Database
Short profiles of 1,000 CEOs and founds of US-based companies. Advanced search features allows for searching by various characteristics such as gender or industry. Available in an Excel format.
4000 Years of Women in Science
This project presents brief biographies and some photographs for mainly women scientists from antiquity to early twentieth century. The list of scientists can be viewed by name, by time period or by subject field.
Paragraph length biographies on "15,000 of the greatest names, past and present," from the Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia. Each entry includes pronunciation.
Congressional Biographical Directory
Very brief information about members of the U.S. Congress, from its earliest days to the present. Search by name or browse lists of representatives, senators, speakers of the House or even members of the Continental Congress.
Congressional Directory: Main Page
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). Published since 1888, the Congressional Directory presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers.
Federal Bureau of Investigation — The Vault
More than 3,000 documents on individuals and organizations obtained from the Freedom of Information Act have been scanned from paper into digital copies. Content is subjective and not comprehensive. Search by names or look through categories such as hot topics or anti-war. Records may be incomplete, and difficult to read, but provides some interesting primary sources.
People - Society and Culture in the Yahoo! Directory
Wide range of links, from scholarly web pages on famous or historical persons to personal home pages of today's ordinary folks.
Regional Oral History Office - UC Berkeley
This collection of oral history interviews with important figures in California and U.S. history comes from the Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley.
Search for Biographies on IPL2
Offers links to biographies of authors, entertainers, musicians, politicians and rulers, scientists and inventors. Includes sources on Black Americans, women, popes, kings, prize winners, athletes and others. Even includes a "Find a Grave" link for locating cemeteries where famous people are buried.
The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences.
Profiles of African American men and women who have contributed to the advancement of science and engineering. Search by name or select from names listed by profession. Offers statistics and links to related web pages.
Women's Biographies: Distinguished Women of Past and Present
Links to sites about women of achievement in every activity from agriculture to stage and screen. Search by name or by field of activity.
SRJC Libraries | Doyle Library (707) 527-4548 | Mahoney Library (707) 778-3975 | Santa Rosa Junior College 1501 Mendocino Ave. Santa Rosa, CA 95401-4395