- African American History Resources on ipl2
Links to a wide range of websites on African American history.
- African American World | PBS
PBS presents this introduction to African American history and culture. Sections include History, Arts & Culture, Race & Society and profiles of famous African Americans. Also included are a timeline which outlines notable events from the 1400s to the present, a collection of 350 related articles selected from the Encyclopedia Britannica, links to web pages for other PBS and NPR programs on African Americans, and links to other relevant web sites.
- Black History Month Search on ipl2
Links to websites containing information about Canadian and American Black History Month resources.
- Race & Place: An African American Community
An archive about the racial segregation laws, or the 'Jim Crow' laws from the late 1880s until the mid-twentieth century. The focus of the collection is the town of Charlottesville in Virginia.The project intends to connect race with place by understanding what it was like to live, work, pray, learn, and play in the segregated South.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture | The New York Public Library
- The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences.
Profiles of African American men and women who have contributed to the advancement of science and engineering. Search by name or select from names listed by profession. Offers statistics and links to related web pages.
- United States History / African Americans on ipl2
A list of websites that deal with the history of African Americans in the United States.
- Cultures in the Yahoo! Directory
- H-Ethnic Discussion Network
- Minority Links for Media
"Quick and easy links to the latest data on racial and ethnic populations in the United States." Browse statistical facts by group (Black/African American, Hispanic/Latino, Asian/Native Hawaiian/Other Pacific Islander, and American Indian/Alaska Native populations). Social and economic statistics offered include age, children, disability, education, families, income, occupation, poverty, and more.
- National Anthems
- Open Directory - Cultural and Ethnic Diversity
- The Association of American Cultures
- The National Association for Ethnic Studies
- FAOSTAT - Food and Agriculture Organization Statistics
FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. It is also an excellent source for current information about biomass energy production. This is a free, interactive tool that produces downloadable data sets.
- Food and Nutrition Information Center
From the USDA's National Agricultural Library comes a credible, accurate and practical resource for nutrition and health professionals, educators and consumers. Locate information on how to plan a healthy diet, more on obesity, diet, diabetes, heart health, cancer, vegetarian nutrition and more. Includes recipes.
- Food Timeline
Food history and vintage recipes
- Food Timeline
Food history & historic recipes
- Global Destinations & International Recipes
- Rudd Center for Food Policy & Obesity
Devoted to improving the world's diet, preventing obesity, and reducing weight stigma this website includes links to legislation and other statistical information.
- Sally's Place: Food, Wine, Travel, Ethnic Cuisines
- The African Cookbook
- The Worldwide Gourmet - Culinary Traditions
- USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service
Includes many food safety guides, fact sheets, food recall information, and current news stories about USDA consumer issues related to food safety.
- Vegetarian Nutrition | Evidence-Based Vegetarian Nutrition Information
The American Dietetic Association's website designed "to provide tools from evidence-based research to plan all types of vegetarian meals". Includes recipes, diets designed for teens and children and information on different kinds of vegetarian diets.
- Chicano Studies Research Center Library Links
- Pew Hispanic Center
Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. The Center does not take positions on policy issues. The Center conducts and commissions studies on a wide range of topics in demography, economics, education, identity, immigration, labor, politics and remittances.
- American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
- Bibliographies of Northern and Central California Indians
- California Indians and Their Reservations
From the San Diego State University Library, this site "lists all the American Indian groups in California, giving their reservations, locations, acreage, population, and contact information. Also includes many cultural and historical terms, and population statistics, with links to the tribal web sites."
- California Language Archive
A product of a collaboration between the Survey of California and Other Indian Languages and the Berkeley Language Center (BLC), both archives at the University of California, Berkeley, this website serves as a catalog to the holdings of these 2 language archives. The special focus is indigenous languages of California, but Native languages from North and South America are included. A linguistic genealogical tree is provided for each language. Zoomable maps. User registration to hear many of the language recordings is required.
- Grace Hudson Museum
An art, history, and anthropology museum in Ukiah, California
- Indians of California - Resources
- Native North American Resources on the Internet - The New York Public Library
- News from Native California: Links