- Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Major sources of free online texts, in all languages, both general and specialized.
- California Digital Library
The California Digital Library was founded to assist the University of California libraries in sharing their resources and holdings. Among its programs and services are the Online Archive of California, Calisphere, and the union catalog of the UC libraries, Melvyl, and the eScholarship Publishing Program, which provides open-access and alternative publication services to the University of California.
- Explore the British Library
30,000 treasures from the British Library's collection. Turn pages of an Ethiopian Bible, explore 19th century photography or learn more about "Black Europeans", Henry VIII, ancient maps and more.
- Google Books
Search the full text of thousands of books that have been digitized. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital library with content from over 50 research libraries
- International Children's Digital Library
This project aims to create a collection of more than 10,000 books in at least 100 languages that is freely available to children, teachers, librarians, parents, and scholars throughout the world via the Internet. 324 books are currently online. Age level for children is 3-13 years.
- Literature @ SunSITE
The Digital Library SunSITE is building a collection of digital texts that can be read online, printed, or downloaded for further study.
- National Academy Press
Free PDF versions of all books published by National Academy Press, publisher of National Academies of Science, Institute of Medicine, and others.
- Open Library
Over a million titles to browse.
- Project Gutenberg
Founded in 1971, this initiative offers the largest amount of free e-books for download. Most are in the public domain, and all have been digitized by volunteer efforts.
- The Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia
The Electronic Text Center's holdings include approximately 70,000 on- and off-line humanities texts in many languages.
- The Online Books Page
From the University of Pennsylvania Library. Includes ebooks from the California Digital Library
- Turning the Pages, the British Library
An eclectic mix of approximately 30 classical works available for reading and download.
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Browse eBooks by title
- Cambridge Journals Online - Browse Journals By Subject
Includes both free and fee-based scholarly journals
- Directory of open access journals
- HighWire Press ePublishing Stanford University
HighWire Press, a division of the Stanford University Libraries, produces online versions of high-impact, peer-reviewed scientific journals and other scholarly content. In addition to fee-based titles, HighWire offers access to more than 850,000 free, full-text articles online. Free titles include the Journal of Biological Chemistry (JBC), Science, the New England Journal of Medicine, PNAS (Publications of the National Academy of Science) and JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association), as well as many other prestigious journals. (Due to copyright restrictions, access to many free titles is delayed by 3-12 months after publication.)
- NewJour Electronic Journals and Newsletters from Georgetown University
- SRJC Full Text Electronic Journal List
To access an entire magazine, journal or newspaper, search this list of all the SRJC Library's periodicals (SRJC users only) .
- SRJC Libraries | All Databases
The SRJC Library subscribes to approximately 8,000 magazines, scholarly journals and newspapers online. To search for articles by topic, use the Library's online article databases. (SRJC users only)
- TIME Magazine Archives
This is a digital archive of every Time magazine issue published from 1923 to present day. Articles from over 4,000 issues may be searched, as well as subject collections of articles and magazine covers based on historical events