- Biodiversity Hotspots
Conservation International (CI) focuses its efforts on "the 25 richest and most threatened reservoirs of plant and animal life on the earth. ... The remaining natural habitat in these biodiversity hotspots amounts to just 1.4 percent of the land surface of the planet, yet supports nearly 60 percent of the world's plant, bird, mammal, reptile, and amphibian species." Select a region and view a map and description, statistics, (amount of vegetation remaining, number of endemic plant species, etc.), lists of threatened species, information on unique biodiversity, human impacts and conservation actions, reading lists and more. (This website received a Scientific American 2003 Sci/Tech Web Award.)
- Carbon Footprint of Nations
Calculate your country's carbon footprint, find answers to commonly asked questions about carbon footprints and learn more about what carbon footprints tell us along with how to reduce our carbon footprint.
- Carbon Offset Research & Education (CORE)
An initiative of the stockholm Environment Institute and the Greenhouse Gas Management Institute this site provides authoritative data regarding various types of carbon offset program legislation both in the US and abroad. Has a bias toward promoting this type of program.
- Census of Marine Life: A Decade of Discovery
A ten year study involving 2,700 scientists from 80+ nations aimed to compile and increase access to knowledge of the diversity, geographic distribution, and abundance of marine life.
- Center for Biological Diversity
An advocacy organization working to preserve endangered species,especially through the courts and by publicizing environmental threats. Provides information on the status of specific species including profiles, color photographs and information about the species.
- Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health
This center takes a lead role in development, consolidation and dissemination of information and programs focused on invasive species, forest health, natural resource and agricultural management through technology development, program implementation, training, applied research and public awareness at the state, regional, national and international levels.
CERES is an information system developed by the California Natural Resources Agency to facilitate access to a variety of electronic data describing California's rich and diverse environments.
- Climate Change Policy & Practice
A knowledgebase and news service of United Nations and intergovernmental activities takes an international look at addressing global climate change policy.
- Climate Crisis
- Climate in Peril: A Popular Guide to the Latest IPCC Reports
In 2007 the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change published its Fourth Assessment Report (following earlier assessment reports in 1990, 1995 and 2001). The link is to a PDF report that consists of four volumes, published under the title Climate Change 2007. This guide aims to present the substance and the sense of the IPCC report in an easy fashion. PDF reader required for viewing.
- Climate Literacy: The Essential Principles of Climate Sciences
This guide presents information about the Earth's climate, the impacts of climate change, and approaches for adapting and mitigating change. In PDF format.
- Climate Monitoring
Find statistical U.S. data on drought, wildfires, hurricanes and other weather events.
- Consequences of a Rising Bay - Global Warming
This set of maps from the Bay Conservation and Development Commission, the USGS and the Chronicle, reveals how melting polar ice could change the San Francisco Bay area shoreline. Maps show the effects of a 1 meter rise in sea level in the South Bay and in low-lying spots such as Treasure Island, Novato/Petaluma River mouth, Corte Madera/San Rafael, Richardson Bay/Mill Valley, Richmond, the Oakland Airport and other areas.
- EarthSky Science
EarthSky presents scientists’ words and insights in podcasts and text interviews throughout this informative site. Available in English and Spanish, the site covers current views on climate, oceans, energy, biodiversity, food production, and other timely environmental issues.
- Encyclopedia of Earth
Produced by the Environmental Information Coalition of the National Council for Science and the Environment, this comprehensive encyclopedia contains objective articles written by experts.
- Environment Web Directory
- Environmental Health News
A daily compilation of national and international English-language news about ecosystem, wildlife, and human environmental health. Includes scientists' critique of media coverage.
- Everglades Digital Library
Hosted by Florida Information University Libraries, this site was established to make information and resources about the Everglades more accessible to researchers, educators, and decision makers.
- FAOSTAT - Food and Agriculture Organization Statistics
FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries. It is also an excellent source for current information about biomass energy production. This is a free, interactive tool that produces downloadable data sets.
- Global Warming & Climate Change-Science Tracer Bullet
This research guide from the Science Reference Services of the Library of Congress offers a review of the print and online literature (books, articles, government publications, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, etc.) and selected online resources on global warming and related topics.
- Global Warming FAQ | Union of Concerned Scientists
- Global Warming Video
Five frequently-asked questions about global warming.
- GOSIC Home - Gulf Oil Spill Information Center - Campus ...
As a service to the scientists at the 20 institutions that make up the Florida Institute of Oceanography, the University of South Florida Libraries constructed an online data archive and information center concerning the Gulf oil spill.
- GreenSource: The Magazine of Sustainable Design
Multidimensional online source that includes news, projects, product information, events, images, blogs and other material related to sustainable design and construction. Look for the Green-Building Projects and Sustainable-Design Case studies which feature sustainable design works in a variety of building types.
This environmental news and commentary site is a good place for information about energy policy, sustainability, "living green", climate and energy and other eco issues.
- Individual WAste Reduction Model (iWARM) | Resource Conservation | US EPA
iWARM is an Excel spreadsheet program that helps you understand the energy saved by recycling small quantities of common household products, rather than landfilling them. The energy savings are translated into the equivalent amount of electricity, estimating how long that amount of electricity will operate a variety of household appliances.
- Laguna de Santa Rosa Foundation
The Laguna Foundation was formed in 1989 following the convening of the State of the Laguna conference, which brought together the private and public agencies and interests with a stake in the Laguna's condition and future
- MyEnvironment Query | US EPA
Search for environmental information based on ZIP code or city. Displays regulated sites and businesses, detailed air quality information and overall cancer risk from exposure.
- National Biodiesel Board
The National Biodiesel Board (NBB) is the national trade association representing the biodiesel industry in the United States. Biodiesel is a domestic, renewable fuel for diesel engines derived from natural oils like soybean oil.
- NOAA's State of the Coast
Offers quick facts and more detailed statistics through interactive indicator visualizations that provide highlights of what we know about coastal communities, coastal ecosystems, and the coastal economy and about how climate change might impact the coast.
- NRDC Environmental Law & Policy, Environmental Legislation
Information about NRDC efforts to protect and building upon America's framework of environmental laws, including the Clean Air Act, the Clean Water Act, and the Endangered Species Act. Keep up to date with latest legislation affecting environmental issues through our biweekly Legislative Watch bulletin, which tracks all environmental bills moving through Congress.
- NRDC: Natural Resources Defense Council - The Earth's Best Defense
The NRDC is an environmental action group. This website is an excellent resource for information about energy laws and policy, green business policy and practices, issues surrouding climate change, and sustainable living.
- Projected Effects of Climate Change in California: Ecoregional Summaries Emphasizing Consequences for Wildlife
A new PRBO report that summarizes, by 12 CA ecoregions, the published literature on the predicted effects of climate change with an emphasis on consequences for wildlife. This report brings together a vast literature and delivers the results in a way that should be useful to a wide variety of conservation practitioners. The information contained in the report could serve to inform climate change adaptation plans as well as general conservation plans such as the CA Wildlife Action Plan. From the Point Reyes Bird Observatory (PRBO). Contains references.
- Renewable Fuels Association
The Renewable Fuels Association provides detailed information about the production of alternative fuels, ethanol, developments in the production of cellulosic ethanol, the use of cropland for fuel development, and other timely issues. See the annual industry outlook on this site for a broad overview of the state of biofuel production in the US.
- Resources For the Future
Resources for the Future (RFF), a nonprofit organization located in Washington, DC, "conducts independent research--rooted primarily in economics and other social sciences--on environmental, energy, natural resource and environmental health issues." Choice Dec 2012
- Scorecard: The Pollution Information Site
Determine an environmental scorecard for your zipcode.
- Shout Online Conference Series | Interact with Smithsonian Experts, Live Online
The Smithsonian Shout Online Conference Series offers lively, informative exchanges with experts in science, history, and the arts and people everywhere in the world. Presentations include visuals such as artworks and photographs, maps and graphics, and video clips — all archived for replay any time. Free registration is necessary to reserve a virtual seat in the conferences.
- State forecast to face less water, more heat - San Francisco Chronicle
- The EnviroLink Network
- The Environmental Literacy Council
A comprehensive, online resource for topics related to environmental studies such as: air and climate, land, water, ecosystems, energy, food and more.
- The Happy Planet Index
The New Economics Foundation's Happy Planet Index measures the "efficiency with which countries convert the earth's finite resources into well-being experienced by their citizens." Discover a whole new way of measuring the ecological footprint.
- The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Widely recognized as the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species.
- Top Ten Toxic Pollution Problems 2006-
Using data collected over the past three years from thousands of toxic hotspots, the The World’s Worst Toxic Pollution Problems 2011 Report identifies the top ten toxic pollution threats, and for the first time, calculates their health impacts. Released by the Blacksmith Institute in collaboration with Green Cross Switzerland, the report reveals the most targeted picture of pollution’s toll to date. Mercury, lead, pesticides, chromium, and arsenic are some of the offenders.
- U.S. Green Building Council
The U.S. Green Building Council is a non-profit community of leaders working to make green buildings available to everyone within a generation. Visit this site for up-to-date information about all LEED certification options and news about trends in sustainable design.
- UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment
Worldwide in scope, this interactive atlas provides images of environmental changes over time, or before and after a major event. Examples include natural disasters such as volcanic eruptions or flooding, urban growth and changes in glaciers as well as various kinds of pollution. Download these free images as TTIFF or JPEG, PowerPoint slides or posters.
- Union of Concerned Scientists
- USDA Office of the Chief Economist - Climate Change
The Climate Change Program Office (CCPO) operates within the Office of the Chief Economist and functions as the Department-wide coordinator of agriculture, rural and forestry-related global change program and policy issues facing USDA. The Office ensures that USDA is a source of objective, analytical assessments of the effects of climate change and proposed response strategies.
- What You Need to Know About Energy
The National Academies Press has created a clear and informative site allowing you to explore the advantages and challenges of different energy sources along with their costs, efficiency and uses.
This is a social network for individuals interested in discussion sustainability issues.
- World Business Council for Sustainable Development
The World Business Council for Sustainable Development (WBCSD) is a CEO-led, global association of some 200 companies dealing exclusively with business and sustainable development. The Council provides a platform for companies to explore sustainable development, share knowledge, experiences and best practices, and to advocate business positions on these issues in a variety of forums, working with governments, non-governmental and intergovernmental organizations.
- World Resources Institute
The World Resource Institute is an environmental advocacy group whose mission is to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth’s environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations. This is a good site for information about climate change, energy use, population and ecosystem issues and anything addressing the use of the earth's resources.
This is a nonprofit media organization that comprises a global network of independent journalists, designers and thinkers who cover the world’s most innovative solutions to the planet’s problems, and inspire readers around the world with stories of new tools, models and ideas for building a bright green future.
- Worldometers - real time world statistics
World statistics based on various governmental sources increase as you watch. Several statistics listed in the following broad categories: population, government and economics, society and media, environment, food water, energy and health.
- Worldwatch Institute | Vision for a Sustainable World
The Worldwatch Institute is an independent research organization recognized by opinion leaders around the world for its accessible, fact-based analysis of critical global issues. The Institute's three main program areas include Climate & Energy, Food & Agriculture, and the Green Economy.
- Yale Environment 360: Opinion, Analysis, Reporting & Debate
Yale Environment 360 is the creation of Yale University's School of Forestry & Environmental Studies and is an excellent general-interest publication on environmental issues. Some of the nation's most accomplished freelance writers join scientists, environmentalists, academics, policymakers, and business leaders in lucid, well-written explorations of everything from biodiversity to water policy. The site is divided into departments for opinion, straight reporting, analysis, and interviews, as well as by topic and geographic regions.