- AHRQ Patient Safety Network
AHRQ Patient Safety Network (PSNet) is a national web-based resource featuring the latest news and essential resources on patient safety. The AHRQ PSNet Collection comprises an extensive selection of resources relevant to the patient safety community. These resources come in a variety of formats, including literature, research, tools, and Web sites. Resources are identified using the National Library of Medicine’s Medline database.
- All about braces, orthodontics, dental insurance
- Allied Health Profession: Radiologic Technologist
- American Academy of Family Physicians - Journals
Find select article collections from the journals of the American Academy of Family Physicians.
- American Dental Hygienists Association
- American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
- American Society of Radiologic Technologists
- Americans with Disabilities Act
Information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act
- Anatomy Atlases
- Anatomy Videos: MedlinePlus
Nearly 80 videos produced by A.D.A.M. Topics covered include normal human anatomy and physiology (blinking, blood pressure), pathophysiology of diseases (galucoma, Parkinson's disease) and clinical interventions. Includes closed-captioning. Requires QuickTime.
- Annals of Family Medicine
This journal offers free access to select articles from current and past editions. Search the archives to find select articles reporting on original research.
- California Dental Association
- California Dental Hygienists Association
- Cancer Biology – Inside Cancer: A Multimedia Guide to Cancer
- CDC Stacks
Mine the Centers for Disease Control for information about health, disease, statistics and more.
- Center for Science in the Public Interest
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
A registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the US and around the world.
- County Health Rankings
This web site provides access to the 50 state reports, ranking each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health. Each county receives a summary rank for its health outcomes and health factors and also for the four different types of health factors: health behaviors, clinical care, social and economic factors, and the physical environment. Each county can also drill down to see specific county-level data (as well as state benchmarks) for the measures upon which the rankings are based.
- CT Scans: MedlinePlus
- Dental Cost Calculator
- Dental Hygienists Information for the Occupational Outlook Handbook
- Diagnostic Imaging: MedlinePlus
- Digital Anatomist Interactive Atlases
- Disability.gov: Connecting the Disability Community to Information & Opportunities
- Disailities Resources on IPL2
- Discover Nursing
- Effects and Side Effects of Dental Restorative Materials
- Environmental Health News
A daily compilation of national and international English-language news about ecosystem, wildlife, and human environmental health. Includes scientists' critique of media coverage.
- Fast Food Nutritional Information
- Food and Nutrition Information Center
From the USDA's National Agricultural Library comes a credible, accurate and practical resource for nutrition and health professionals, educators and consumers. Locate information on how to plan a healthy diet, more on obesity, diet, diabetes, heart health, cancer, vegetarian nutrition and more. Includes recipes.
- Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
- Health Care and Medical Information for Healthy Living - myOptumHealth
- Health Information - National Institutes of Health
Health information on a variety of topics from the National Institutes of Health, the nation's medical research agency.
- Health On the Net Foundation
Includes an encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics. Sponsored by the US Department of Health & Human Services. Also available in Spanish.
- Human Anatomy Model, Anatomy Chart, Anatomical Chart | InnerBody
- Inside the Brain: An Interactive Tour
What happens in the brain of a person with Alzheimer’s disease? This tour, intended for the lay person, demonstrates graphically how the brain works and how Alzheimer's affects it. From the Alzheimer's Association, the site also offers other information and resources pertaining to Alzheimer's (causes, warning signs, treatment, stages, statistics, fact sheets, resource lists, glossary and so forth).
- Kaiser Family Foundation
"Resources include white papers, fact sheets, and sophisticated policy research, along with interactive quizzes, maps, and presentations. The site also serves as a clearinghouse for important heath policy news and information from other sources, with new items featured on the home page. " Choice March 2013
- Kaiser Permanente Health Encyclopedia
Information and resources on a wide variety of health topics.
- Mapping the Measure of America
Created by the Human Development Project this site uses three major factors: health, education and income to measure the well-being of America. A tutorial helps explain how to interpret, create and download charts and graphs from the site.
- Martindale's Dental Center
Dental news, journals, atlases, procedures, lectures, videos, etc.
- Martindale's Health Science Guide
- Medical Marijuana Supreme Court Decision
A 2005 broadcast from PBS regarding medical marijuana.
- MedlinePlus Health Information from the National Library of Medicine
Health information from the National Library of Medicine. Find interactive tutorials, information on over 800 health conditions, diseases, and wellness, along with current news on developments in health research.
- MedlinePlus: Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information
- Merck Manuals Medical Library
- MRI Scans: MedlinePlus
- National Institutes of Health
- National Library of Medicine Databases and Electronic Resources
An extensive list of web-based information resources available through the National Library of Medicine.
- National Library of Medicine Gateway
Search multiple retrieval systems simultaneously.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements
The Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) fact sheets give a current overview of individual vitamins, minerals and other dietary supplements. ODS is writing fact sheets in three versions—Health Professional, Consumer and QuickFacts. All versions provide the same types of information but vary in the level of detail.
- NLM Disaster Information Management Research Center.
"The DIMRC website is organized into eight main sections: Disasters Types and Topics (e.g., weather, earthquakes, bioterrorism, ethics, coping); Emergency Response Tools; Disaster Health Literature, including quick links to NLM databases such as PubMed and TOXNET" Choice Aug 2014
- Nuclear Scans: MedlinePlus
- Nurses for a Healthier Tomorrow
Nursing career information from Nurses for a Healthier Tomorrow, a coalition of 43 nursing and health care organizations working together to wage a communications campaign to attract people to the nursing profession.
- Nursing Center
- Nursing News
- Nutrition Analysis Tool 2.0
- Oral Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
From the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, this site offers information for professionals and consumers alike. Topics include water fluoridation, oral cancer, oral health for older adults, dental amalgam, dental sealants, and much more. Includes guidelines, fact sheets, journal articles and state-by-state reports and oral health plans.
- Pediatric Radiology
More than 20 million citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. The citations may include links to full-text articles or to publisher web sites.
- PubMed Tutorial
A web-based learning program that will show you how to search PubMed, the National Library of Medicine's journal literature search system.
- Radiographic Anatomy of the Skeleton: Table of Contents
- Radiologic Technologists and Technicians, from the Occupational Outlook Handbook
- Radiological Society of North America Online Journals
- Right to Know: Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets
- Seasonal Influenza (Flu)
Flu Season information from the Centers for Disease Control.
- Sexual Health Issues: MedlinePlus
- Sexually Transmitted Diseases: MedlinePlus
- Simple Steps To Better Dental Health
- Sutter Health Information Library
- The Family Village / Waisman Center / University of Wisconsin Madison
- The Grey Literature Report
The Grey Literature Report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.In general, grey literature publications are non-conventional, fugitive, and sometimes ephemeral publications. They may include, but are not limited to the following types of materials: reports (pre-prints, preliminary progress and advanced reports, technical reports, statistical reports, memoranda, state-of-the art reports, market research reports, etc.), theses, conference proceedings, technical specifications and standards, non-commercial translations, bibliographies, technical and commercial documentation, and official documents not published commercially (primarily government reports and documents) (Alberani, 1990).
- The Whole Brain Atlas
- Top Ten Toxic Pollution Problems 2006-
Using data collected over the past three years from thousands of toxic hotspots, the The World’s Worst Toxic Pollution Problems 2011 Report identifies the top ten toxic pollution threats, and for the first time, calculates their health impacts. Released by the Blacksmith Institute in collaboration with Green Cross Switzerland, the report reveals the most targeted picture of pollution’s toll to date. Mercury, lead, pesticides, chromium, and arsenic are some of the offenders.
- Ultrasound: MedlinePlus
- USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service
Includes many food safety guides, fact sheets, food recall information, and current news stories about USDA consumer issues related to food safety.
- Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
- Welcome to the American Dental Association
- WHO | World Health Organization
- Worldometers - real time world statistics
World statistics based on various governmental sources increase as you watch. Several statistics listed in the following broad categories: population, government and economics, society and media, environment, food water, energy and health.
- X-Rays: MedlinePlus
- Harvard World Health News
"From the Harvard School of Public Health, this weekly digest covers worldwide public health-related news, providing excerpts with links to the full stories as well as links to related stories, editorials, and media. It also links to primary sources such as scientific reports, and offers occasional original reporting by the Harvard School of Public Health. " Choice 2014