- 19th Century American Culture Lone Star College-Kingwood Library
- A German-American Chronology
- A Short Chronology of Japanese American History
- African American World Timeline | PBS
- American Cultural History - The Twentieth Century
Offers excellent background information about what was happening in the United States by decade, from 1900 to 1999. Includes statistics, art and popular music, historic documents, people and personalities, television programs, movies and more.
- American Experience | PBS | Vietnam Online
- American History Timeline: 1780-2010
From 1780 to 2000.
- American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
- Antietam National Battlefield (U.S. National Park Service)
This is the national park service website for the Antietam Battlefield, representing the bloodiest one-day battle in American history. It contains information on the history and culture of the area, as well as an overview of the animals, plants, and environmental factors relevant to the area.
- Best of History Web Sites
- Big History Project
Each history offers valuable insights. Together, they reveal even more. Big history weaves evidence and insights from many scientific and historical disciplines into a single, accessible origin story – one that explores who we are, how we got here, how we are connected to everything around us, and where we may be heading. Click on the Timelines link to explore.
- Bracero History Archive
The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
- British History Online
"A digital library of text and information about people, places and businesses from the medieval and early modern period, built by the Institute of Historical Research at University of London and the History of Parliament Trust." Browse by type of history (administrative, ecclesiastical, local, London, and parliamentary), by place, or by source, or simply search by keyword. Includes items such as " Morgan's map of the whole of London in 1682,"samples of 17th century journals of the House of Commons and the House of Lords and histories of the individual counties.
- Charles Dickens: An Overview
- Chronicling America - The Library of Congress
This site, from the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 from the states of California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, Texas, Utah, and Virginia.(More states coming later.) Good not only for national news and events but also for local history.
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
- Discovering Lewis & Clark
- dMarie Time Capsule
This site lets you create a printable "time capsule" for any date in history since 1800 (though best after 1875). Information available includes newspaper headlines, famous birthdays, top songs, TV shows, books and toys, economic indicators, Academy Award winners and more.
- Encyclopedia of British History: 1500-1950
Containing over 2,000 entries, this encyclopedia, produced for Britain's National Grid for Learning, is an attempt to show the history of Britain through the eyes of people from all levels of society. Articles cover not only law and government, but also topics such as the emancipation of women, the textile industry, artists, architects, poets, and scientists, the slave trade and child labor.
- European History Primary Sources
Attempts to create a single site compiling all digitized primary sources pertaining to European history. Sites are arranged by subject, language, period and nation. Some sources may not be in English. Links to Vincent Van Gogh's letters, fully digitized and searchable, a wide range of primary sources about eighteenth-century London, with a particular focus on plebeian Londoners, are but a few of the gems you'll find by exploring this website.
- Explore the British Library
30,000 treasures from the British Library's collection. Turn pages of an Ethiopian Bible, explore 19th century photography or learn more about "Black Europeans", Henry VIII, ancient maps and more.
- Federal Bureau of Investigation — The Vault
More than 3,000 documents on individuals and organizations obtained from the Freedom of Information Act have been scanned from paper into digital copies. Content is subjective and not comprehensive. Search by names or look through categories such as hot topics or anti-war. Records may be incomplete, and difficult to read, but provides some interesting primary sources.
- From Revolution to Reconstruction
- From Revolution to Reconstruction: Documents
- Gettysburg Foundation
This is the website of the Gettysburg National Military Park Museum and Visitor Center.
- Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition Online
- Historical Timeline - Explore History Through Five Different Timelines
Five timelines featuring some of the key events, inventions, and leaders which had a major impact on the world's history.
- Historical Voices
- History and Politics Out Loud: a searchable archive of politically significant audio materials
A searchable archive of politically significant audio materials. Borrow headphones from the Library for use at Library computers.
- History of Vaccines — A Vaccine History Project of The College of Physicians of Philadelphia
Explores the role of immunization in the human experience and examines its continuing contributions to public health including such features as the anti-vaccine movement, ethical issues, and the top 20 questions about vaccination.
- Holocaust Encyclopedia
Organized by theme, this site uses text, historical photographs, maps, images of artifacts, and audio clips to provide an overview of the Holocaust.
- Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States
- Journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition
- Lewis & Clark - Mapping the West
- Lewis and Clark | PBS
- Library of Congress
Special collections, including American Memory, Veteran's History, and other historical maps, video, audio, and other documents.
- Library of Congress Web Archives Home Page
The Library of Congress Web Archives (LCWA) is composed of collections of archived web sites selected by subject specialists to represent web-based information on a designated topic. It is part of a continuing effort by the Library to evaluate, select, collect, catalog, provide access to, and preserve digital materials for future generations of researchers.
- LIFE Magazine Photo Gallery Archives
See what the big story was each week.
- LSU Libraries Special Collections: The United States Civil War Center
This rich collection of research and materials pertaining to the civil war includes online exhibits such as "the Beyond Face Value: Depictions of Slavery in Confederate Currency" and "Blue and Gray for Boys and Girls."
- Making of America Books
A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- Media History Project - Timelines
- Media History Project : University of Minnesota
- Musical Timeline
Through the links below the whole history of classical music can be browsed. A timeline offers a unique viewpoint in studying the history of music. Composers and events appear in context, offering new insights.
- National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper.
- National Archives on Google Video
Google and the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration launched a pilot program to make NARA's video holdings available free through Google Video and the NARA website. The first phase in the deal between the two partners involves the release of 101 films from the archives' collections, including government newsreels documenting World War II; NASA films on the history of its space program; documentaries on the history of national and state parks and the earliest film held there, Carmencita—Spanish Dance from 1894. The ultimate goal is to put online as many of NARA's 114,000 films and 37,000 videos as possible.
- National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
World's largest archive of climate data
- National Geographic: Lewis & Clark
- National Library of Medicine: Historical Anatomies on the Web
A digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts.
- National Women's History Museum - NWHM
The Museum researches, collects and exhibits the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of the US in a context of world history. Special online exhibits highlight less known individuals or issues.
- National Women's History Project
- On This Day
Lists events which occurred on each month and day of the year throughout history. Links to New York Times articles on the events when available.
- PBS | History
- People's Century
Based on an award-winning, twenty-six part PBS television series which offers insight into the events of the past hundred years through the personal testimony of the people who lived them. The site offers a timeline for the century, discussions by theme (Lost Peace, Breadline, Living Longer, Endangered Planet, etc.), and a place for you to add your own story, or that of your family, to the Web record of the People's Century.
- Perseus Digital Library
Digital Library of Ancient Greece and Rome
- Presidents of the United States (POTUS)
In this resource you will find background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents. Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites are also included.
- Race & Place: An African American Community
An archive about the racial segregation laws, or the 'Jim Crow' laws from the late 1880s until the mid-twentieth century. The focus of the collection is the town of Charlottesville in Virginia.The project intends to connect race with place by understanding what it was like to live, work, pray, learn, and play in the segregated South.
- Regional Oral History Office - UC Berkeley
This collection of oral history interviews with important figures in California and U.S. history comes from the Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley.
- San Francisco History
From 1950 to the Present
- The American Civil War Homepage
- The American Presidency Project
- The Free Information Society - Media in History
- The History Channel
- The Labyrinth
Resources for medieval studies, sponsored by Georgetown University
- The Online Medieval & Classical Library
The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization
- The Triangle Factory Fire
Cornell University has produced a website treating the history and labor issues surrounding the fire at the Triangle Waist Factory on March 25, 1911. Read original documents, audio and text interviews with survivors and witnesses and view photographs and illustrations.
- The Vietnam Center and Archive: Virtual Vietnam Archive
The Vietnam Archive collects and preserves the documentary record of the Vietnam War, from letters and oral histories to veterans' organizations, scholars of the period and other individuals and organizations who had experiences with the war. Also includes an acronyms database and a set of frequently asked questions. Developed by The Vietnam Project at Texas Tech University.
- The Virtual Wall - Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund
- The Wars for Vietnam: 1945-1975
An examination and answers to many unanswered questions about the Vietnam War.
- This Day in History - Britannica Online Encyclopedia
Britannica Online offers a "biography of the day" and lists some events which happened on this day in history.
- This Day in History — History Channel
The History Channel tells you what happened on any day in history.
- TimeRef - Medieval and Middle Ages History Timelines
Episodes of Medieval History
- Today in History
Discusses an important event or issue from American history for each month and day of the year. Includes images from the Library's collections and links to information on related topics. You can also search the entire archives for specific words and topics, Jump to a specific day of the year or browse entries a month at a time.
- Unseen, Unforgotten. Civil Rights Digital Archive | The Birmingham News, Alabama
A collection of never before seen photographs of the Civil Rights movement, from the Birmingham News. Photos cover desegregation of the schools, the fight for voting rights, civil disobedience, the Freedom Riders, and more. Multimedia presentations featuring more pictures and interviews with the photographers and participants in the civil rights movement are also online.
- Veterans History Project (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress's Veterans History Project is committed to honoring veterans and collecting their stories. The collections offer personal narratives, audio and video taped interviews, written memoirs, letters, postcards, vmail, personal diaries, photographs, drawings and scrapbooks, many online. The focus is on first-hand accounts of U.S. veterans from World Wars I and II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and the Persian Gulf War. Civilian war industry workers, U.S.O. workers, medical volunteers, etc. are also invited to participate. The site provides instructions on how to submit your own veteran and wartime stories.
- Visualising China: Explore Historical Photos of China
An open-access image resource for more than 8,000 digitized images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950 from the University of Bristol Department of Historical Studies project. Search or browse across the collections.
- VoS: Voice of the Shuttle
- We Shall Overcome - Historic Places of the Civil Rights Movement
- Words and Deeds in American History: Selected Documents Celebrating the Manuscript Division's First 100 Years
- World Digital Library Home
Browse the World Digital Library for cultural treasures by place, time, topic, type of item, or contributing institution, or locate items by keyword search. Special features include interactive geographic clusters, a timeline, and advanced image-viewing. Switch between the seven languages to read or listen to contextual information through item-level descriptions and podcasts.
- World History : HyperHistory
- World History Index and History Central Catalogue
- World Wide Web Virtual Library - Military History
- WWW Virtual Library Women's History