- Catholic Encyclopedia
Transcribed by volunteers, this web site is a digital version of the 1913 Catholic Encyclopedia.
- Encyclopedia - Britannica Online Encyclopedia
Visit this source through the library's database pages for full access.
- Encyclopedia - Online Dictionary | Encyclopedia.com
- Encyclopedia Iranica
Published by Columbia University's Center for Iranian Studies. "Aims to treat all aspects of Iranian history and culture. Readers will find thousands of entries, which are solicited via invitation only and peer reviewed by a very impressive editorial board--38 scholars from major international academic institutions where various areas of Iranian studies are taught"
Choice Aug. 2012
- Encyclopedia Judaica Online
Free access provided by the Bureau of Jewish Education to this comprehensive encyclopedia that was published by MacMillan Reference USA.
- Encyclopedia Mythica
This encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and magic contains well over 2500 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world. Written by a 29-year old scientist in the Netherlands, with additional contributions from volunteers.
- Encyclopedia of British History: 1500-1950
Containing over 2,000 entries, this encyclopedia, produced for Britain's National Grid for Learning, is an attempt to show the history of Britain through the eyes of people from all levels of society. Articles cover not only law and government, but also topics such as the emancipation of women, the textile industry, artists, architects, poets, and scientists, the slave trade and child labor.
- Encyclopedia of Earth
Produced by the Environmental Information Coalition of the National Council for Science and the Environment, this comprehensive encyclopedia contains objective articles written by experts.
- Encyclopedia of Life
Renowned Harvard evolutionary biologist E.O. Wilson is behind this website whose goal is to make freely available to anyone knowledge about all the world's organisms.
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian
- Holocaust Encyclopedia
Organized by theme, this site uses text, historical photographs, maps, images of artifacts, and audio clips to provide an overview of the Holocaust.
- MedlinePlus: Medical Encyclopedia
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- UCLA Encyclopedia of Egyptology
This is an online, peer-reviewed encyclopedia full of articles on all aspects of Ancient Egypt.
- Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Bartleby offers access to a wide variety of reference, fiction and non-fiction books online, including Bartlett's Familiar Quotations, 10th ed. 1919, Columbia World of Quotations, and Simpson's Contemporary Quotations; the Most Notable Quotations 1950-1988. Search all three collections together or search them one at a time. Quotes are well documented, giving both the author and the source of each quotation.
- Columbia World of Quotatoins
Contains over 65,000 literary and pop-culture quotations, including famous remarks, sayings, witticisms, judgments, and observations on 6,500 subjects from 5,000 authors. Search by author or by word or category.
- Famous Hippy Quotes
From author Skip Stone, well-known quotes from the 60s and 70s. Categories include philosophy ("You're either on the bus or off the bus"--Ken Kesey), freedom ("One thing I can tell you is you got to be free!"--John Lennon), love, activism, drugs and music. (For accuracy, better check the original sources; these appear to be submitted by readers.)
- Search for Quotations on IPL2
An annotated list of Quotations websites, including collections of scientific quotations, movie quotes, quotes about cats and dogs, tax quotes, quotes by women and more.
- Strong's Exhaustive Bible Concordance Online
The Strong's Exhaustive Concordance is an easy-to-use understandable concordance for studying the original languages of the Bible.
- The Quotations Page
Searchable by word, but you must search several collections of quotations separately. Author of quote is given, but no source.