This is the "Home" page of the "Religion, Mythology, and Philosophy Web Sites" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Catalog Databases Ask A Librarian SRJC Libraries

Religion, Mythology, and Philosophy Web Sites   Tags: mythology, philosophy, religion  

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2013 URL: http://libguides.santarosa.edu/weblinks-religion Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Religion

  • Bulfinch's Mythology
    This classic collection of myths and fables was originally published in three separate volumes: The Age of Fable, coverin stories from ancient Greece and Rome; The Age of Chivalry, covering the legends of King Arthur; and The Legends of Charlemagne, covering romantic fables and stories from the Middle Ages. The webbed version, compiled by Bob Fisher, is greatly enhanced by links to other web sites offering background information on characters and terms used in some of the stories and by features such as the webmaster's own notes and a search engine.
  • Catholic Encyclopedia
    Transcribed by volunteers, this web site is a digital version of the 1913 Catholic Encyclopedia.
  • Encyclopedia Mythica
    This encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and magic contains well over 2500 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world. Written by a 29-year old scientist in the Netherlands, with additional contributions from volunteers.
  • Exploring Religions Home
    From the Religious Studies Program at the University of Wyoming, information on various aspects of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam and Judaism.
  • Internet Sacred Text Archive Home
    Offers "significant primary texts relating to religion and mythology." Covers many cultures, religions and time periods, including neolithic, African, Greek & Roman, Shinto, Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity, Native American, Islam and many others.
  • Mythology
    This NASA-funded website from the University of Michigan offers information about gods and goddesses of different cultures around the world who are associated with objects in the sky (sun, moon, planets, comets, etc.) and with the earth. Gods and goddesses from Inuit, U.S. Native American, Aztec, Mayan, Amazon, Inca, Norse, Celt, Greek, Roman, Egyptian, Yoruban, Fon, Sumerian, Hindu, Chinese, Japanese and Polynesian cultures are represented. Information presented about each god or goddess is available in Beginning, Intermediate and Advanced levels.
  • Philosophy Bites
    Interviews with leading professional philosophers cover traditional topics (epistemology, ethics and the like) figures (Plato, Aristotle Hum, Kant) and topics ( skepticism, free will) but also everyday issues (torture, love, animal rights, multiculturalism, genocide).
  • Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Mythology

  • Bulfinch's Mythology
    This classic collection of myths and fables was originally published in three separate volumes: The Age of Fable, coverin stories from ancient Greece and Rome; The Age of Chivalry, covering the legends of King Arthur; and The Legends of Charlemagne, covering romantic fables and stories from the Middle Ages. The webbed version, compiled by Bob Fisher, is greatly enhanced by links to other web sites offering background information on characters and terms used in some of the stories and by features such as the webmaster's own notes and a search engine.
  • Encyclopedia Mythica
    This encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and magic contains well over 2500 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world. Written by a 29-year old scientist in the Netherlands, with additional contributions from volunteers.
  • Mythology
    This NASA-funded website from the University of Michigan offers information about gods and goddesses of different cultures around the world who are associated with objects in the sky (sun, moon, planets, comets, etc.) and with the earth. Gods and goddesses from Inuit, U.S. Native American, Aztec, Mayan, Amazon, Inca, Norse, Celt, Greek, Roman, Egyptian, Yoruban, Fon, Sumerian, Hindu, Chinese, Japanese and Polynesian cultures are represented. Information presented about each god or goddess is available in Beginning, Intermediate and Advanced levels.

Philosophy

  • Bulfinch's Mythology
    This classic collection of myths and fables was originally published in three separate volumes: The Age of Fable, coverin stories from ancient Greece and Rome; The Age of Chivalry, covering the legends of King Arthur; and The Legends of Charlemagne, covering romantic fables and stories from the Middle Ages. The webbed version, compiled by Bob Fisher, is greatly enhanced by links to other web sites offering background information on characters and terms used in some of the stories and by features such as the webmaster's own notes and a search engine.
  • Catholic Encyclopedia
    Transcribed by volunteers, this web site is a digital version of the 1913 Catholic Encyclopedia.
  • Encyclopedia Mythica
    This encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and magic contains well over 2500 definitions of gods and goddesses, supernatural beings and legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world. Written by a 29-year old scientist in the Netherlands, with additional contributions from volunteers.
  • Exploring Religions Home
    From the Religious Studies Program at the University of Wyoming, information on various aspects of Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam and Judaism.
  • Internet Sacred Text Archive Home
    Offers "significant primary texts relating to religion and mythology." Covers many cultures, religions and time periods, including neolithic, African, Greek & Roman, Shinto, Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity, Native American, Islam and many others.
  • Mythology
    This NASA-funded website from the University of Michigan offers information about gods and goddesses of different cultures around the world who are associated with objects in the sky (sun, moon, planets, comets, etc.) and with the earth. Gods and goddesses from Inuit, U.S. Native American, Aztec, Mayan, Amazon, Inca, Norse, Celt, Greek, Roman, Egyptian, Yoruban, Fon, Sumerian, Hindu, Chinese, Japanese and Polynesian cultures are represented. Information presented about each god or goddess is available in Beginning, Intermediate and Advanced levels.
  • Philosophy Bites
    Interviews with leading professional philosophers cover traditional topics (epistemology, ethics and the like) figures (Plato, Aristotle Hum, Kant) and topics ( skepticism, free will) but also everyday issues (torture, love, animal rights, multiculturalism, genocide).
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip