- 4000 Years of Women in Science
This project presents brief biographies and some photographs for mainly women scientists from antiquity to early twentieth century. The list of scientists can be viewed by name, by time period or by subject field.
- Active Fire Mapping Program
Current large fire mapping provided by the US Forest Service.
- Aircraft Rescue Firefighting Working Group
- American Chemical Society Awards
Information on awards presented by the American Chemical Society and numerous other organizations.
- American Physical Society Prizes, Awards & Fellowships
"A prize or award presented by The American Physical Society is one of the highest honors a physicist can receive. It is a symbol of the admiration of a physicist's peers and demonstrates that the recipient's accomplishments and contributions to physics are judged exceptional by those of his colleagues who are best able to judge their value."
From Cornell University's Library, open access to 675,014 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- Committee for Skeptical Inquiry
- County of Sonoma Fire and Emergency Services Department
An overview of the fire companies of Sonoma County
- Energy Explained, Your Guide To Understanding Energy
Contains basic, short articles on a wide range of energy topics including definitions of common terms. Produced by the Energy Information Administration whose goal is to provide unbiased information on all aspects of energy.
- Exploratorium: the museum of science, art and human perception
- Federal Fire Restrictions
- Federation of American Scientists
- Fields Award
The equivalent of a Nobel Prize in the field of Mathematics, established to recognize both existing mathematical work and also the promise of future achievement. Only awarded to mathematicians under age 40.
- Fire History Timeline | National Park Service
National Park Service timeline of large fires and fatalities since 1638.
- International Association of Fire Fighters
- International Association of Women in Fire & Emergency Services
- Khan Academy Videos
More than 1,600 brief and concise videos on a variety of subjects, especially in math and science.
- Molecular Biology Virtual Lab Book
Stephanie Dellis from the College of Charleston has put together an online version of a typical lab manual for an introductory molecular biology course.
- National Library of Medicine: Historical Anatomies on the Web
A digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts.
- National Volunteer Fire Council
The National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC) is a non-profit membership association representing the interests of the volunteer fire, EMS and rescue services. The NVFC serves as the information source regarding legislation, standards and regulatory issues.
- Neurons by the University of Toronto
Learn about the anatomy of a neuron and more in this site from scientists at the University of Toronto. Designed like a science textbook this well-designed, clearly written source includes animations which may be downloaded free of charge into PowerPoint presentations.
- PBS NewsHour: Science & Technology Archive | PBS
- Pepperwood Preserve
Pepperwood Preserve (est. 1979) is a nature preserve located at the southern end of California's North Coast Ranges. Snaking between the world-renowned Sonoma and Napa Valleys, the majestic Mayacamas Mountains rise above San Francisco Bay and stretch northward past Calistoga to the east and Santa Rosa to the west. Here, across from Mt. St. Helena, near the divide of the watersheds of the Napa and Russian rivers, Pepperwood Preserve protects a 3117-acre zone of stunning landscape and rich biodiversity.
- Periodic Table Live!
A one-stop site for data on every element. Clicking on any element in the periodic table links to a range of information, including discovery and history, physical data, atomic data, images, video,crystal structure and more.
- Resources of Scholarly Societies By Subject
- Science Blogging Aggregated
Scienceblogging is a central clearinghouse for all your science needs. It is an aggregator of science blogs leading to all of the diverse places where science is discussed online.
- Science Timeline
The evolution of western thinking about nature, from prehistory to 2000.
- Science Tracer Bullet - Science Reference Services, Library of Congress
- Science.gov : USA.gov for Science - Government Science Portal
- Science360 - Science Videos from the National Science Foundation
Sponsored by the National Science Foundation this site collects current videos as well as other multimedia files from science and engineering professionals, academic institutions and others. Learn about the science of snowboarding to fighting crime with math and everything in between.
- Science360 - The Knowledge Network
Science360 Knowledge Network immerses visitors in the latest wonders of science, engineering, technology and math.
An aggregator of science blogs, the developers of this site are an all-volunteer team of scientist-bloggers, PhD students and online content consultants. Blogs can be viewed by date or topic.
- Scientific American
- Scitable | Learn Science at Nature
Currently concentrating on genetics and cell biology, topics of evolution, gene expression and cellular processes. A free science library and personal learning tool created by the prestigious Nature Publishing Group.
- The Environmental Literacy Council
A comprehensive, online resource for topics related to environmental studies such as: air and climate, land, water, ecosystems, energy, food and more.
- The Why Files | The Science Behind the News
Supported by the University of Wisconsin-Madison this award-winning, informative, educational, and entertaining website looks at the science behind the headlines with in-depth, well-researched analysis. Bibliographies and credits for researchers and the author.
- The Wildland Fire Assesment System (WFAS)
- UC Davis ChemWiki: The Dynamic Chemistry Textbook
Get help with your chemistry queries in this authoritative wiki overseen by Dr. Delmar Larsen from UC Davis.
- UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment
Worldwide in scope, this interactive atlas provides images of environmental changes over time, or before and after a major event. Examples include natural disasters such as volcanic eruptions or flooding, urban growth and changes in glaciers as well as various kinds of pollution. Download these free images as TTIFF or JPEG, PowerPoint slides or posters.
- Union of Concerned Scientists
- United States Fire Administration - Publications
As an entity of the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency, the mission of the USFA is to provide national leadership to foster a solid foundation for our fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness, and response.
- US Fire Administration
Focuses on reducing losses caused by fire and related emergencies through leadership, advocacy, coordination, and support.
- US Fire Administration Fire Statistics
Provides statistical information about fires, firefighter fatalities, fire fighting services, etc.