Skip to main content
The US Census Bureau source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data
American National Election Studies
Produces high quality data back to 1952 on US voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
BEA: Regional Economic Accounts
GDP, personal income and employment statistics for US states are featured. Includes the ability to create interactive charts, graphs, tables and maps on any data points you choose.
Data are intended to be nonpartisan and to avoid political party agendas. Users will find plenty to enjoy within the site's nine categories and narrower subtopics (found under both the Explore and Navigate tabs). However, the Links section (harder to find because it is located at the bottom of the home page) is also valuable, with nearly 150 agencies and organizations listed, complete with URL, subject tag, and overall description.
Economagic: Economic Time Series Page
A free economic data directory containing over 200,000 data files, most of which can be downloaded as Excel spreadheets.
Includes links to local, state, and federal agencies that report statistics of activity.
Mapping the Measure of America
Created by the Human Development Project this site uses three major factors: health, education and income to measure the well-being of America. A tutorial helps explain how to interpret, create and download charts and graphs from the site.
MetroTrends | Urban Institute's report card on social and economic trends in urban America
The Urban Institute's report card and toolkit on the state of metropolitan economies. Charts and figures along with expert commentaries and downloading capability.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Gapminder: Unveiling the beauty of statistics for a fact based world view
Allows comparison of countries by displaying charts and maps on the fly for some 500 indicators relating to health, income, education energy, the environment, technology and more. Using the Gapminder tutorial to understand the site is essential.
International Energy Agency - Searchable Energy Statistics
A searchable database of world energy statistics. Information may be parsed by country, geographic region, OECD countries, or at a global level, for fossil fuel and renewable energy data sources.
NationMaster - World Statistics, Country Comparisons
This website offers a searchable database of demographic, economic and other statistical variables that allows you to compare country information along serveral criteria.
Socioeconomic, demographic, and science-related statistics on both member and non-member nations of the Organization of Economic Cooperation and Development.
Top Ten Toxic Pollution Problems 2006-
Using data collected over the past three years from thousands of toxic hotspots, the The World’s Worst Toxic Pollution Problems 2011 Report identifies the top ten toxic pollution threats, and for the first time, calculates their health impacts. Released by the Blacksmith Institute in collaboration with Green Cross Switzerland, the report reveals the most targeted picture of pollution’s toll to date. Mercury, lead, pesticides, chromium, and arsenic are some of the offenders.
Worldometers - real time world statistics
World statistics based on various governmental sources increase as you watch. Several statistics listed in the following broad categories: population, government and economics, society and media, environment, food water, energy and health.
SRJC Libraries | Doyle Library (707) 527-4548 | Mahoney Library (707) 778-3975 | Santa Rosa Junior College 1501 Mendocino Ave. Santa Rosa, CA 95401-4395